Daily Archives: December 5, 2007

Wanted — A Barbershop

I’ve been in town for nearly two months and I’m still looking for a permanent barber shop. I miss the one I frequented in Des Moines, the Roosevelt Barbershop, where politicos and other local movers and shakers went to get their locks trimmed. Tom Vilsack got sheared there the day before he announced his presidential candidacy. He eventually had to drop out, but his hair looked great.

The place had sports magazines, a deer head on the wall, a life-sized cardboard Dale Earnhardt and TVs generally tuned to news, weather, sports or the occasional nature show. It was a throwback joint with customer loyalty you can’t buy.

So anyway, I’m looking for a similar spot in the Cedar Rapids-Marion metroplex. Please give me suggestions.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

Clinton Dumps Celine, Picks Todd

ABC news is reporting that Hillary Clinton has dumped her campaign theme song, “You and I” by Celine Dion. You may remember the song was picked after a much-ballyhooed Web vote last summer. The song was first used to promote a Canadian airline.

“Instead on the trail these days, Big Head Todd and the Monsters are in and their “Blue Sky” is seemingly the campaign’s favorite as the New York Senator enters and exits the stage,”ABC’s Political Radar blog reported Tuesday afternoon.

Obviously, just by looking at my picture, you know I’m a big fan of Big Head Todd. One of their concert posters adorned my college apartment door. Their music is OK, but their name is brilliant.

Clearly, the Clinton campaign is turning a pivotal corner on its path to the nomination. That Handsome Head Obama is toast.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized