Summer Tunes

Sources close to the solstice claim it’s summer. Judging by our recent Octoberish weather, I can’t confirm that. 

But apparently it’s true. And I ran across Entertainment Weekly’s list of the top 100 summer songs of all time.

It’s a fairly predictable list. “Summer in the City” by The Lovin’ Spoonful is No.1. There are three Beach Boys songs in the top 25. No big shockers.

For some reason, Van Halen is the first band I think of when the subject of summer music comes up. That’s probably due to my age and the amount of time I spent listening to Van Halen and Van Hagar while cruising with the T-tops out in my friend’s IROC-Z.

Throw in Motley Crue, Cinderella and Def Leppard while you’re at it.

But, sadly, Van Halen does not make the EW top 100.

Sam Cook, The Doors and old-school Bruce “The screen door slams…,” Springsteen, Gregg Allman would make my summer list. The EW list has some Beatles songs, but nothing from the Sgt. Pepper’s album, which I think has a frivolous summer feel. And it came out the same year my parents’ old Malibu convertible rolled out of Detroit. (It’s not the one pictured above, but similar. They sold it. Curses.)

I loved that car, except the fact that it threw a hubcap everytime I took a corner too sharp.

The more I think about it, the more music I could add. But I’d rather find out what you think.

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Summer Tunes

  1. “All Summer Long” – Kid Rock (How did this not make EW’s list?)
    “Darlington County” – Bruce Springsteen
    “Mud on the Tires” – Brad Paisley
    “Wild at Heart” – Gloriana
    “4th of July” – Shooter Jennings
    “Girl” – Beck

  2. Sandra

    Thanks for a remembrance of the sound of summer. Makes me feel like a kid again!

  3. “Drive” by The Cars. Totally reminds me of hot summer nights when I was a teenager, driving with the car windows down and the radio blasting.

  4. Who in the world puts depressing songs like “Every Breath You Take” and “Waterfalls” on a “best of summer” list? “Panama” by VH should definitely be on the list. No summer party is ever complete without someone cueing up “Brown-Eyed Girl” by Van Morrison.

  5. Tod Kohl

    “In The Summertime” Mungo Jerry
    “Summertime” Billy Stewart
    “Summertime, Summertime” The Jamies
    etc…

  6. Michael

    How is “Summertime” by DJ Jazzy Jeff and the Fresh Prince at 83? That should be top 20 or 15, easily. Jeff Angelo is right on the money with his comments.

  7. Christine Z.

    Pink Floyd and Enigma come to mind.

  8. Katherine

    Let’s see… “Boys of Summer” leaps to mind. The Richard Marx album that came out when I was about a Sophomore in H.S. Van Hagar… 5150 and OU812. Steve Miller Band… and I get to see him live in a few weeks. Any and all southern rock reminds me of cruising the streets of my small town and gravel roads surrounding with the radio too loud.

  9. “Brown Eyed Girl” by Van Morrison!

Leave a Reply

