Why?

1. Why is Brett Favre still hanging on? I mean, when you’re pushing 40, your skills are diminished and clearly your best days are behind you, why drag it out to an embarrassing end? Now if he were a columnist, this would be an entirely different matter…

2. Why can’t I take good advice? So I sit down at my desk Tuesday, hot coffee in hand, birds singing and voice mail light blinking.

I have one message…message one, “Dorman, it’s about time you get your head out of your ass…” Evidently the chap was unhappy that I stuck up for the Ellis boathouses, or “dumps,” as he calls them. I really wasn’t shocked, having been advised to undergo this delicate procedure before, many times, in fact. I never listen.

The caller, however, did not specify which should be removed first, the boathouses or my embeded head. Perhaps he’ll ring again.

3. Why isn’t Tom Vilsack a better gardener? He admitted this weekthat his plot at the Department of Agriculture is inferior to Michelle Obama’s White House stand of organic veggies. Our former biotech booster-in-chief, bested by a Chicago attorney. It was a dark day for all Iowans with dirt under their nails. I lowered my tomato cages to half-staff.

4. Why would a U.S.senator toting the baggage of an undisclosed (now very disclosed) affair bother making a presidential toe-dipping trip to Iowa? Maybe he thought what happens in the office of a senator who represents Vegas stays in the office of a senator who represents Vegas.

5. Why don’t I know what I want for Father’s Day? Maybe that advice guy will call back with a suggestion.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Why?

  1. Teresa Quass

    What a great addition you are to the Gazette staff. I was saddened when Mike Dupree retired. I didn’t think another writer could compare to him. Sometimes he made you laugh, sometimes he made you think, sometimes he fired you up to share your opinion (or his) with others. I am no longer disappointed by Mr. Dupree’s absence. I hope he is enjoying retirement as much as I am enjoying your articles and blog.

  2. Christine Z.

    Kudos to you for defending the rights of the Ellis Harbor boat owners. It’s nice to see someone speak for those without a voice.

  3. Todd–

    I was often told to remove my head from my posterior during my legislative career. As I recall, the first time I was instructed to do so was by a fellow party member in a caucus meeting.

    Perhaps there should be a social club for folks like us. Or at least a page on Facebook.

  4. Iowa Cynic

    “Why is Brett Favre still hanging on? I mean, when you’re pushing 40, your skills are diminished and clearly your best days are behind you, why drag it out to an embarrassing end? Now if he were a columnist, this would be an entirely different matter…”

    Does this have anything to do with your item on Bill Wundram last week? Have you read his column? He’s been phoning it in for decades…

  5. tdorman

    No, Iowa Cynic, it does not. I was talking about myself, actually.

Leave a Reply

