Little Bo Update

Little Bo a few days after the flood

Little Bo a few days after the flood

Leon “Tunnie” Melsha says he’s still planning to reopen the beloved and flood-damaged Little Bohemia tavern at 1317 Thirds St. SE.

I talked with him briefly today. Melsha said he’s waiting for word on federal assistance, but expects to get that funding withing weeks. He also said it will take at least a couple of months to make necessary repairs on the building, which was built in 1883.

But he’s still committed to making those repairs.

“I brought it back when it was in worst shape than that,” said Melsha, who bought the building in 1978 and spent five years renovating it.

“We’ll get ‘er,” he said.

His son, Jeff Melsha, who managed the place and tended bar, took a job selling cars in the meantime.

I hope Jeff’s  back behind that bar sooner than later, hopefully in time for that hot muggy weather that makes a cold beer so good.

Here’s a link to a column I wrote about the bar back in August.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Little Bo Update

  1. Patricia Soukup

    I look forward to the Little Bohemia coming back. I am a relative of the former owner of Adolph Kalous and the Little Bohemia has so many memories for me. Good Luck Mr. Melsha.

Leave a comment