Blogile Dysfunction in Denver

Monday afternoon I walked into the Pepsi Center, site of the Democratic National Convention, secure in the assumption that I had desk space and Internet access. Unfortunately, one out of two was bad.

Desk yes. Internet, no.

Iowa Democratic party folks told us we’d have access. Qwest, the big telecommunications sheriff in this cow town, said otherwise. After a couple phone calls, I was told it would cost $1,350 to turn on the connection at our desk space. Unfortunately, I left all my gold nuggets in my other chaps.

So, consequently, I was struck down with a case of BD in prime time. I saw so many things that I could have commented on, made fun of and marveled at, but all I could do was laugh to myself. I tried to blog with my BlackBerry but the reception was so weak that it took a minute or more to open a web page.

I never got to say that I’m not sure showing the Kennedys yachting is the most helpful image when you’re counting McCain’s houses. I couldn’t tell you about the curious line of people clamouring to get their photo taken with George McGovern. You missed knowing that, despite all their fancy talk about a better tommorrow, I saw no Democrats eating Dippin’ Dots, the ice cream of the future.

I couldn’t tell you about House Speaker Nancy Pelosi, although that’s because I missed much of her speech while buying a $4 Mountain Dew. Tastes the same in the mountains as it does in Iowa, by the way.

What did frontiersmen do when they thought of something clever out in the wilderness?

But I will endeavor to persevere. Check back after 4 p.m. for my impressions of Gov. Chet Culver’s speech to the convention. There will be other stuff too.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Blogile Dysfunction in Denver

  1. Greetings from another Cedar Rapids Dorman. I enjoy reading your column and your blog. I wrote about your DNC blog coverage on my blog at http://www.dorm.org/~brady

    Keep up the good work!

  2. Just fellow author, a very interesting article, is rarely found in the network once again want to thank the sponsors, thank you.

Leave a Reply

